Two Seasons

It’s popular to say that places with varied climates have four seasons.  Bunk! I say.  Kenora has two seasons: Summer, during which temperatures remain above freezing, and Winter, during which temperatures remain below freezing.  I grudgingly concede that the two transitional periods that feature melting by day and freezing at night could be considered mini-seasons, and that there are people that like to pretend that they are Spring and Fall.  However, it is also common to hear them described by locals as ‘thaw’ and ‘freeze-up’, especially the latter.

The definitions I offer above are nice and simple, and do not tie Mother Nature to the calendar.  This has merit, because yesterday there was a whole lot of melting going on, and today it snowed.  Then turned to freezing drizzle, and will turn back to snow tonight.  Sounds like Winter to me, Saint Patrick’s Day and Daylight Saving Time notwithstanding.  By the way, if you are fortunate enough to live in a part of the world where your ‘winter’ temperatures do not remain resolutely below freezing, you do not really have a winter that I consider worthy of the term.   A ‘white Christmas’ does not count.

Because I am more hardy than sensible, I go for a walk every day, all year, usually first thing in the morning. This sucks for temperatures – I am often out while it is just hitting the overnight low – but it is wonderful for photography.  Here are a couple pictures from my winter walks, but both of these were taken at sunset, not dawn.

Icy River Sunset

I like that in this one, the snow is not white.  I did not retouch this picture except to crop it to the right proportions to use as wallpaper on my computer monitor.

Winter Bridge

Come to think of it, the snow isn’t white in this one, either.  I shoot most of my landscapes in ‘portrait’ mode.  I started doing it so I could have tall wallpaper for my computer monitor, which is oriented vertically because it’s nice for Word, but I have come to like it, because a good landscape picture  should have foreground elements, and the tall narrow view emphasises that.

Both these images were captured on Kenora’s Tunnel Island trails, using my Samsung Galaxy III.

Leave a Reply

