Lobster Roll

Well, this is the last weekend before our vacation starts, so if I’m going to do any sophisticated blogging before we go, now is the time. Sophisticated? That’s new, you say. Well, no. What I meant was, with all the technical features that are possible on my home computer. Such as posting a cropped and edited map, after I bludgeoned Googlemaps into routing it my way. Who am I kidding? After I bludgeoned Googlemaps into routing it Caroline’s way. Scroll down a little, and you can see an earlier version on a previous post. Hotel availability caused some of the changes. Caroline’s penchant for sending us through the mountains caused others.

Lobster RollYou can click on this map to see a larger and more legible version, or you can see the fully zoomable Googlemaps version here.

You may notice that the route is not very direct. That is so we can hit some scenic drives through the Adirondacks and Green Mountains, which should be in peak autumn colours by the time we get there. Keep your fingers crossed for some exceptionally colourful Pictures of the Day. Also, we have a request for at least one photo of a covered bridge.

The trip now has a name, provided by Caroline. In honour of our last trip to the West Coast, known as Salmon Run, we are calling this eastern trip Lobster Roll. This is only fair; salmon is more my thing than Caroline’s, whereas lobster appeals more to her than me. For aficionados, I should explain that neither of us are really fans of crustacean on a plate, but she is looking forward to some lobster rolls, perhaps some bisque, and so on. I’m hoping for some scallops, some chowder, and perhaps some Atlantic salmon.

Most of our travel arrangements have been finalized. We know what we will be driving, or at least we know what we asked the rental agency for – a Toyota RAV4. Hotels are booked. Early on, we had contemplated splurging on a couple of B&Bs, but we have decided against. For the most part, we will be staying at Best Westerns, because Caroline works at one, and there are discounted rates available for employees. She enjoys seeing how other hotels operate, and comparing them to hers.

I will be doing some hiking in the mornings, Caroline says she’ll join me for a stroll in the afternoon. The daily drive will only amount to three hours or so, so we should have plenty of time for sightseeing.

Our vacation begins on Thursday, but the Lobster Roll does not start until Monday, October 6th. That is because we will be spending the weekend in Ottawa so that I can attend Can-Con, a Science Fiction & Fantasy convention, where I will be hanging out with editors, publishers and other writers of SFF. For details on that, you could pop over to my other blog: Timothy Gwyn Writes. Or you might find it convenient to start at my website, timothygwyn.com which gives easy access to all three of my blogs. The third one, Lake of the Woods Ice Patrol, is dormant right now, as it is all about spring ice conditions on the lake at home. Cool aerial photos, though, if you want to check it out.

Okay, enough stalling. Time to get packing!

 

Leave a Reply

